First Morning in Cuba: Painting the ‘Bull Boy’

No disrespect intended!  Walt Bartman had promised us a cowboy and his horse.  What we got was a grizzled, droll, and patient farmer . . . and his bull.  Of course, both were way more fun to paint than a horse and cowboy would have been.

A Farmer and His Bull Pose for our Group

Walt, painting the 'bull boy'

My perspective on the bull and rider.

From My Perspective

This was my vantage point.

And my gouache sketch.  It’s not great — I spent most of my time watching Walt’s gouache techniques, trying to learn more about this unfamiliar medium.

A Pretty Pathetic Gouache, if I DO Say so Myself

Oh well . . .

A word about the gouache:  Walt had encouraged us to use this easy-to-tote medium, rather than haul oil painting gear all over Cuba.  This was good advice in view of the strict weight limit and our plan to bring giveaway items.  But NOT so good for painting quality, in my case anyway.  I’ll brief you ‘later’ on the painful months spent acquainting myself with gouache in advance of our trip.

About Maureen

I can't get over the beauty of our world -- visible in every one and every thing. So, among other things, I make images to try to get a handle on it.
This entry was posted in Art, Figurative Art, Gouache, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.