Extra Special Appreciation for My First Painting Teacher, Otari Shiuk

First Nature Morte

The First Nature Morte I Attempted

In my thirties, while still practicing law, I learned of an emigre from Soviet Georgia who painted with lush color and vigorous line, and lived in a nearby suburb.  Most of my prior artwork had been black line-drawings.  Color terrified me, but I felt I needed to try it.  Through a mutual friend, I arranged Saturday morning oil lessons with Otari Shiuk (short for Shiukishvili).

He couldn’t speak English and of course I couldn’t speak Russian, but we could communicate a smidge.  Me, timidly, pointing at one of his portraits: “I want to paint portraits”.  Him, with utter incredulity:  “Must crawl before run!  Nature morte!!”

My least favorite thing at the time was still life, but I was in no position to object.  He set up a simple tableau on his back porch:  a dark red apple, a deep purple eggplant and a brown pottery pitcher, all on a reflective white porcelain table backed by a white handkerchief, hanging sail-like from a red brick wall.

He gestured that I should paint it.  I’ll continue the tale next time — but I’m sure you can imagine the ensuing scene without much more explanation!  By the way, the picture above is a poor crop from an out-of-focus photo.  Will try to do a better one later.

About Maureen

I can't get over the beauty of our world -- visible in every one and every thing. So, among other things, I make images to try to get a handle on it.
This entry was posted in Art, Art Classes, Favorite Teachers, Oil Painting, Painting, Still Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.